Kareem Tayyar Is the 2023 International Poetry Contest Winner!

We’re so excited to share that Kareem Tayyar wins this year’s International Poetry Contest!  Kareem wins $1000 and publication in the Fall issue.  Victoria Chang was the final judge.

His most recent collection, Keats in San Francisco & Other Poems, was released in 2022 by Lily Poetry Review Books, and his work has appeared in Poetry Magazine, Alaska Quarterly Review, and Prairie Schooner, among other publications. His novel, The Prince of Orange County, received the 2020 Eric Hoffer Prize for Young Adult Fiction, and he is a past recipient of a Wurlitzer Poetry Fellowship and the Glenna Luschei Poetry Prize. He is Professor of English at Golden West College in Huntington Beach, California, and previous books of his include Let Us Now Praise Ordinary Things and Immigrant Songs.
Congratulations to Kareem Tayyar!  And Congrats to all the Finalists
for writing amazing poetry and making our judge’s life difficult!
      • Sarah Carey
      • Debra Devins
      • Page Getz Ellingerr
      • Michelle Bonczek Evory
      • Stacey Forbes
      • Anyély Goméz-Dickerson
      • Shellie Harwood
      • Ben Hellerstein
      • Brian Patrick Heston
      • Joann Hinz
      • Maxima Kahn
      • Margaret Lee
      • Katharyn Howd Machan
      • Meryl Natchez
      • Christopher Nolan
      • John Schneider
      • Jacquelyn Shah
      • Carole Stasiowski
      • Donald Wildman

Carter Rekoske Is the 2023 Dan Veach Prize for Younger Poets Winner!

We’re thrilled to announce that Carter Rekoske has won this year’s Dan Veach Prize for his poem, “Prayer for Gratitude.”  He has won $100 and his poem will be published in the upcoming Fall issue.

Carter is a 21 year old creative writing student at Bryan College in Tennessee. He won the poetry award in his school’s 2022 and 2023 annual literary contests and will be published in forthcoming issues of Listening and Black Fox Literary Magazine.

We want to thank everyone who participated, and send special shout out to our Finalists and Honorable Mentions!

The Complete List of Finalists

      • Alejandro Aguirre, “Elizabeth Bishop’s Arrival at Havana, 1955”
      • Gospel Chinedu, “Progeny”
      • Gaia McCune, “A Spring Morning”

The Complete List of Honorable Mentions

      • Amad Aamir, “Letters I Keep Writing to the Sea”
      • Daniel Barry, “Senior Week”
      • Jayant Kashyap, “Nilgai”
      • Chiwenite Onyekwelu, “Duplex for My Father”